Four Way Books Key Staff

Martha Rhodes

Martha Rhodes

Founder and Publisher, Four Way Books

Martha Rhodes is a founding editor and the publisher of Four Way Books. She holds degrees from New School University (BA) and from the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College (MFA). She is the author of five collections of poetry: The Thin Wall (University of Pittsburgh, 2017),  The Beds (Autumn House, 2012), Mother Quiet (University of Nebraska Press / Zoo, 2004), Perfect Disappearance (2000 Green Rose Prize, New Issues Press), and At the Gate (Provincetown Arts, 1995). She has taught at Emerson College, New School University, and University of California, Irvine. She currently teaches at Sarah Lawrence College and the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College. She also has taught at The Frost Place, Third Coast Writer’s Conference, Bucknell University’s June Seminar for Younger Writers, and The Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown. She is a frequent panelist at universities and conferences around the country. She is the current director of the Frost Place Conference on Poetry. She lives in NYC.

Dian Dian Jonas-Walsh


Dian Dian Jonas-Walsh is a student at Barnard College majoring in American Studies with a concentration in early 20th century anti-modernism. Previously, she was awarded the Longfellow Poetry Award in high school.

Hannah Matheson

Hannah Matheson
Senior Editor

Hannah Matheson is an MFA candidate in Poetry at New York University, where she is Poetry Co-editor of Washington Square Review. Previously awarded scholarships to attend The Frost Place Conference on Poetry, Hannah’s work has appeared or is forthcoming in Four Way ReviewThe Adroit JournalImage Journal, and elsewhere.

Sally Ball

Sally Ball

Associate Director, Four Way Books

Sally Ball is the author of three books of poems: Hold Sway (2019)Wreck Me (2013) and Annus Mirabilis (2005), all from Barrow Street Press. In addition to her work with Four Way Books, she is a professor of English at Arizona State University in Tempe, AZ.

Ryan Murphy

Director, Four Way Books

Ryan Murphy is the author of MillbrookThe Redcoats, and Down with the Ship. He has received grants and awards from the Aldrich Museum of Contemporary Art, Chelsea Magazine, The Fund For Poetry, and The New York State Foundation for the Arts.

Trish Marshall

Publicist, Four Way Books

Trish Marshall is a graduate of The MFA Program for Writers. Originally from Rhode Island, she lives and works in the mountains of western North Carolina. Her work has appeared in failbetter and LEON Literary Review.

Leave a Reply