Photo Caption: James Fraser

Daniel Tobin

Daniel Tobin is the author of nine books of poems, Where the World is Made, Double Life, The Narrows, Second Things, Belated Heavens (winner of the Massachusetts Book Award in Poetry, 2011), The Net (2014), From Nothing (2016), and Blood Labors (2018). The New York Times named Blood Labors one of the Best Poetry Books of the year for 2018. The Mansions, his trilogy of book-length poems, appeared from Four Way Books in 2023. He is also the author of the critical studies Passage to the Center: Imagination and the Sacred in the Poetry of Seamus Heaney, Awake in America, and On Serious Earth: Poetry and Transcendence, a collection of essays. He is the editor of The Book of Irish American Poetry from the Eighteenth Century to the PresentThe Selected Poems and Lola RidgePoet’s Work, Poet’s Play: Essays on the Practice and the Art, and To the Many: The Collected Early Works of Lola Ridge.  The Stone in the Air, his suite of versions from the poetry of Paul Celan, appeared from Salmon Poetry (Ireland). Among his awards are the “The Discovery/The Nation Award,” The Robert Penn Warren Award, the Robert Frost Fellowship, the Katherine Bakeless Nason Prize, the Massachusetts Book Award, the Julia Ward Howe Award, and creative writing fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. 

The Mansions

From Nothing

The Net

The Narrows

Second Things

Belated Heavens

Blood Labors